Sailing

Sailing is discovering another universe, is learning to play with the elements to move, apprehending time and distances differently, disconnecting from your usual way of life and learning to live with others. It is a promise of vibrations, palpitations, acceptations. But above all, exploration. Whether human, geographic, intellectual, scientific or even artistic, it takes part in the time of reflection , very often cruelly put aside today. Being faced with an ocean as far as the eye can see while living in close proximity with a crew leaves no one indifferent. Experience, share and explore . This is what we would like to share with you on board Estrella

THE TEAM OF THE STAR

Olivia

The rolling armourer

Travel and me, it's a long love story that experienced an unexpected break when I had an accident between two destinations. It will have taken a little time for us to re-tame him and me, but our story has picked up again and has never had as much force and meaning as today ...

 

If my accident forced me to live a completely different adventure for a few years, namely the discovery of the world of disability, as hard as it was rich to grasp, I was able, thanks to my entourage, to a formidable medical team, and by dint of will, start dreaming again and believe that everything is possible.

 

From this chaotic at first sight journey, was born the desire to show that his own will carried by beautiful meetings, can make us exceed all limits.

It's been 10 years now that it's on my four wheels that I ride around the world.

 

 

This is why I founded We Wheel Rock You, an association that promotes adventure, solidarity, surpassing oneself and discovery.

 

It is in the continuity of the work accomplished for over three years that I decided to embark on this new challenge, the realization of a childhood dream and the values ​​that I wish to defend.

 

After three inclusive adventure projects, each time involving more successful actors for WWRY, I wanted to take it to the next level and get more involved.

And Estrella felt obvious. This magnificent 60-feet sailboat is the ideal tool to carry high, strong and far the colors of inclusion, solidarity, discovery and surpassing oneself that I have been defending for four years.

 

Allow people with disabilities to fully enjoy the experience of navigation, participate in offshore races with disabled crews to show that difference can be a performance lever, offer original themed cruises and raise awareness about the environment, while creating meetings and social ties, this is the vocation of this project.

Hissons L'Étoile organization

The Hissons l'Étoile organization has joined the ranks of Estrella Lab to carry out this project as ambitious as it is united. Its vocation is to promote access to the practice of deep sea sailing and all sporting and cultural activities for the benefit of the greatest number and more specifically to people with disabilities. Carry messages of hope, solidarity and inclusion through sailing on the Estrella boat. Its hard core is made up of a shock team that is as diverse as it is complementary, with in common a real desire to defend inclusion in all these forms.

Julien Viroulaud - President

Former crew member of Team Jolokia's Volvo Ocean racing boat, Julien has made diversity his battle. Invested in the associative environment, he initiated in September 2019, We Are Diversiti'team and his first challenge: the rope of diversity. Eight participants, all from stereotypes of diversity, set off to attack Mont Blanc to prove that our singularities are the strength of the collective. Convinced of the social utility of Estrella Lab, he joined the adventure as president of the association.

Xavier Bodiguel - treasurer

A marine biologist by training, Xavier has always had a very strong relationship with the sea. An accident that made him quadriplegic forced him to return to France while he was doing research for Ifremer in Guadeloupe. A few years later, surrounded by friends and then by the Cap Handi association, he started sailing again. Geo FINDOU, sailor and researcher, he is a real asset in the team

Valérie Montoriol - secretary

Videographer-editor passionate about the maritime world, has a dozen transatlantic to her credit, including one as a second on board the proud First40.7 of the Cap Handi association. Valérie allias Valou makes it a point of honor to describe projects that make sense in pictures. From Benoit Parnaudeau's preparation for the Vendée Globe aiming to promote fair trade, to the South Atlantic aboard the legendary Notre Dame des Flots, via Burkina Faso and Cambodia, his camera have taken her to the four corners of the world to give voice to projects with a strong social impact. At the same time, she created Passeurs d'Histoires, filmed biographies to pass on each person's story through the generations.

Thomas Favreau - adjunct treasurer

In a wheelchair following an accident, Thomas, a former pastry chef and chocolate maker, is always up for new adventures. Glider, tennis, sailing, quad ... Not much can stop him. He loves challenges, sleeping in his hammock and baking good pastries aboard Estrella, to the delight of the crew. As he says himself: it makes everyone agree!

Jacqueline Dussol - secretary adjunct

Passionate audio-descriptor since 1984, Jacqueline allias Giacomina is very involved in the accessibility of video content. She is at the origin of many events such as Individuals in the PACA Region, Images en Miroir in Luxembourg (two events around the difference mixing cinema, theater, arts and literature) or the Festival Retour de Cannes, a short film festival for change our looks.

Contact

Olivia Wattinne

olivia@estrellalab.com

Phone: (+33) 06 48 09 30 33

 

Follow Estrella Lab news on our social networks!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • LinkedIn - Black Circle

La voile

Naviguer à la voile c'est découvrir un autre univers, apprendre à jouer avec les éléments pour se déplacer, appréhender le temps et les distances différemment, se déconnecter de son mode de vie habituel et apprendre à vivre avec les autres. C'est une promesse de vibrations, de palpitations, d'acceptations. Mais surtout d'exploration. Qu'elle soit humaine, géographique, intellectuelle, scientifique ou encore artistique, elle participe au temps de réflexion, bien souvent mis cruellement de côté aujourd'hui. Se retrouver face à un océan à perte de vue tout en vivant en promiscuité avec un équipage ne laisse personne indifférent. Expérience, partage et exploration. Voilà ce qu'on aimerait vous faire partager à bord d'Estrella

LA TEAM DE L'ÉTOILE

Olivia Wattinne 

L'armatrice à roulette

Le voyage et moi, c’est une longue histoire d’amour qui a connu un break inattendu lorsque j’ai eu un accident entre deux destinations. Il aura fallu un peu de temps pour que l’on se ré-apprivoise lui et moi, mais notre histoire a repris de plus belle et n’a jamais eu autant de force et de sens qu’aujourd’hui…

 

Si mon accident m’a imposé de vivre une tout autre aventure pendant quelques années, à savoir la découverte du monde du handicap, aussi dur que riche à appréhender, j’ai pu, grâce à mon entourage, à une équipe médicale formidable, et à force de volonté, recommencer à rêver et croire que tout est possible. 

 

De ce parcours à première vue chaotique est née l’envie de montrer que sa propre volonté portée par de belles rencontres, peut nous faire dépasser toutes les limites.

Cela fait maintenant 10 ans que c’est sur mes quatre roues que je me balade aux quatre coins de la planète.

  

C’est pourquoi j’ai fondé We Wheel Rock You, association qui promeut l’aventure, la solidarité, le dépassement de soi et la découverte. 

Dans la continuité du travail accompli depuis plus de trois ans, j'ai décidé de me lancer dans ce nouveau challenge, concrétisation d’un rêve d’enfant et des valeurs que je souhaite défendre.

Après trois projets d'aventures inclusives impliquant à chaque fois plus d'acteurs,  j’ai eu envie de passer à la vitesse supérieure et de m’engager encore plus.

Et Estrella est apparue comme une évidence. ​Ce magnifique voilier de 60 pieds, est l’outil idéal pour porter haut, fort et loin les couleurs de l’inclusion, de la solidarité, de la découverte et du dépassement de soi.

 

 

Permettre à un public en situation de handicap de vivre pleinement l’expérience de la navigation, participer à des courses au large en équipage handi-valide pour montrer que la différence peut être un levier de performance, proposer des croisières thématiques originales et sensibiliser sur l’environnement, tout en créant des rencontres et du lien social, voilà la vocation de ce projet !

L'association Hissons l'Étoile

L'association Hissons l'Étoile a rejoint les rangs d'Estrella Lab pour porter ce projet aussi ambitieux que solidaire. Sa vocation est de favoriser l’accès de la pratique de la voile hauturière et de toutes activités sportives et culturelles au bénéfice du plus grand nombres et plus spécifiquement aux personnes en situation de handicap. Porter des messages d’espoir, de solidarité et d’inclusion par le biais de navigations sur le bateau Estrella. Son noyau dur  est composé d'une équipe de choc aussi diverse que complémentaire avec pour point commun une véritable volonté de défendre l'inclusion sous toutes ces formes.

estrelladejiledyey.jpg
Copie de IMG-20200908-WA0025.jpg

Julien Viroulaud - Président

Ancien équipier du bateau de course Volvo Ocean de la Team Jolokia, Julien a fait de la diversité son combat. Investi dans le milieu associatif il a initié en septembre 2019, We Are Diversiti'team et son premier défi : la cordée de la diversité. Huit participants tous issu des stéréotypes de la diversité, sont partis à l'assaut du Mont Blanc pour prouver que nos singularités font la force du collectif. Convaincu de l'utilité social d'Estrella Lab il a rejoint l'aventure en tant que président de l'association.

Xavier Bodiguel - Trésorier

Biologiste marin de formation, Xavier a toujours eu un rapport à la mer très fort. Un accident qui l'a rendu tétraplégique l'a contraint  à rentrer en métropole alors qu'il faisait des recherches pour l'Ifremer en Guadeloupe.  Quelques années plus tard, entouré de copains puis de l'association Cap Handi il s'est remis à naviguer.  Géo trouvetou, marin et chercheur, il est un véritable atout dans l'équipe

Capture d’écran 2019-11-03 à 13.18.08.pn
Valou sur Estrella.jpg

Valérie Montoriol - Secrétaire

Vidéaste-monteuse passionnée par l'univers maritime, a une dizaine de transatlantique à son actif, dont une embarquée en tant que second à bord du fier First40.7 de l'association Cap Handi. Valérie allias Valou se fait un point d'honneur de raconter en images les projets qui ont du sens. De la préparation du Vendée Globe de Benoit Parnaudeau visant à promouvoir le commerce équitable,  à l'Atlantique Sud à bord du légendaire Notre Dame des Flots, en passant par le Burkina Faso et le Cambodge, sa caméra l'aura emmenée aux quatre coins du monde pour donner de la voix à des projets à impact social fort. En parallèle elle a crée Passeurs d'Histoires, des biographies filmées pour transmettre l'histoire de chacun  à travers les générations.

Thomas Favreau - Secrétaire adjoint

En fauteuil roulant suite à un accident, Thomas, ancien pâtissier-chocolotier est toujours partant pour de nouvelles aventures.  Planeur, tennis, voile, quad... Pas grand chose ne l'arrête.  Il aime les challenges, dormir dans son hamac et préparer de bonnes pâtisseries à bord d'Estrella au grand bonheur des équipiers. Comme il le dit lui même : ça met tout le monde d'accord !

Tomtom dvt son planeur.jpg
Giacomina.jpg

Jacqueline Dussol - Secrétaire adjointe

Audio-descriptrice passionnée depuis 1984, Jacqueline allias Giacomina est très investie dans l'acessibilité des contenus vidéos. Elle est à l'origine de nombreux événements comme Particuliers en Région PACA, Images en Miroir au Luxembourg (deux événements autour de la différence mêlant cinéma, théâtre, arts et littérature) ou encore du festival Retour de Cannes, un festival de courts métrages pour changer nos regards.

Pour prendre soin d'Estrella, une équipe de bénévoles engagée et passionnée qui s'agrandie...

Depuis février, le noyau dur des petites fées d'Estrella est sans contest Cathy, Valou, Matthieu et Marc. Hormis Matthieu qui vit sur son bateau, ils n'avaient pas spécialement d'expérience dans la retape de bateau. Aujourd'hui ponçage et enduit n'ont plus de secret pour eux. Accompagné par Christophe Gireau, préparateur de bateau aux mains d'or, ils ont, entre autre, refait entièrement le pont, repris la coque et s'attaquent à l'isolation, récemment rejoint par Benoit et Madison.